John Hollenbeck's Claudia Quintet + 1, Live In Concert: Newport Jazz 2012

Aug 5, 2012
Originally published on June 23, 2014 9:57 am

A powerhouse behind the drum kit, John Hollenbeck is also becoming one of the great composer-bandleaders of the age. After last year's large ensemble show, he returns to Newport with his unusual small group, the Claudia Quintet (and a sixth member on piano). The band's latest release What Is The Beautiful? sets poems by Kenneth Patchen to music; much like the album, vocalists Kurt Elling and Theo Bleckmann stand and deliver on stage.

Set List

  • "The Snow Is Deep On The Ground"
  • "Keramag"
  • "Showtime/23rd Street Runs Into Heaven"
  • "Job"
  • "Do Me That Love"
  • "Paterna Terra"
  • "Opening The Window"
  • "Just Like Him"


  • John Hollenbeck, drums
  • Red Wierenga, accordion
  • Chris Speed, clarinet/tenor saxophone
  • Matt Moran, vibraphone
  • Drew Gress, bass
  • Matt Mitchell, piano
  • Kurt Elling, voice
  • Theo Bleckmann, voice
Copyright 2014 WBGO-FM. To see more, visit