Joshua Redman Quartet, Live In Concert: Newport Jazz 2013

Aug 23, 2013
Originally published on June 20, 2014 9:33 am

The sight of saxophonist Joshua Redman raising his foot at the apex of a gritty solo has become common to Newport Jazz crowds — and always entirely welcome too. His latest record, Walking Shadows, is a collection of ballads, but this program from the main stage isn't quite so calm. Here's how the set began.

Set List

  • "Summertime" (Gershwin/Gershwin/Heyward)
  • "Doll Is Mine" (Blonde Redhead)


  • Joshua Redman, saxophones
  • Aaron Goldberg, piano
  • Reuben Rogers, bass
  • Gregory Hutchinson, drums
Copyright 2014 NPR. To see more, visit