Thu November 15, 2012
A New Louisiana Law Limiting Sex Offenders to Social Networking
Governor Bobby Jindal has recently signed a new Louisiana law making it the first
of its kind in the nation requiring all sex offenders and child predators to identify themselves on
their personal social media pages such as Facebook or Myspace. The required information listed
should include the title of sex offender or child predator, the convicted crime, the jurisdiction of
the conviction, a description of their physical appearance, and residential address.
The passing of the new law has brought slight ease to users and despite few objectors, it
has gained substantial support.All those who have been convicted of offenses including a minor
cannot participate in social media at all while other offenses such as rape or oral sexual assault
must comply to the new law. Failure to comply will result in a $1000 fine and a minimum of two
years in prison. If a second violation shall occur, a $3000 fine will be presented with a minimum
of five years in prison.
http://www.internetsafety101.org/Predatorstatistics.htm - online sex offender statistics
http://www.brrcc.org/louisiana-sex-crime-statutes-1 - what is a sexual offense?
http://www.city-data.com/so/Louisiana.html - search local Louisiana sex offenders